Saluting Henrik: Past Ranger Goalies On All-Time Wins Leader

Jim Cerny


In searching for a way to properly salute Henrik Lundqvist becoming the Rangers all-time wins leader among goaltenders, I stumbled upon the idea of contacting some of the men who join him as part of the fraternity of Blueshirt netminders and let them use their own words in discussing Henrik, his accomplishments, and their own memories of having played goalie for the New York Rangers.

As this mini project evolved it became a real labor of love for me as I reconnected with some good friends from my hockey past, and began to piece together something that Henrik and his family--as well as all members of the Blueshirts Faithful--could enjoy now, and down the road.

Henrik's enthusiasm, and genuine appreciation, for this idea when I told him of it following career win No. 301 in Winnipeg on March 14th, made me feel this indeed was the right way to pay a small tribute to him here o

The following pages contain parts of my conversations with Mike Richter--the goalie Henrik just passed on the franchise's all-time wins list, John Vanbiesbrouck--the last Ranger goalie to win the Vezina Trophy before Lundqvist did in 2012, Gilles Villemure--another Ranger Vezina Trophy winner, and Lundqvist's previous goalie partners with the Rangers--Marty Biron, Steve Valiquette, and Kevin Weekes.

It's not a complete list, of course, but it is fairly wide cross-section of goaltenders encompassing different times in Rangers history. Hopefully I will catch up with more members of this special fraternity and add them to this list in the coming days or weeks.

I hope you enjoy what these men had to say about the Rangers new all-time wins leader, Henrik Lundqvist.

Mar 19 - 4:00pm