Cally Honored Again For Extra Effort

For the second year in a row, and for the fourth time in five seasons, Rangers captain Ryan Callahan was selected by the Blueshirts Faithful as the recipient of the Steven McDonald Extra Effort Award for 2013. This award has been presented each season since 1987-88 to the Rangers player who goes above and beyond the normal call of duty, and is named in honor of paralyzed New York City police officer Steven McDonald---who presented the award to Callahan prior to Thursday's Rangers-Panthers game at Madison Square Garden.

Callahan is the second player to be named winner of the Steven McDonald Extra Effort Award on at least four different occasions, joining Blueshirts legend Adam Graves. Callahan won the award two years in a row from 2008-09 through 2009-10 before Brandon Prust interrupted his run the following year. Callahan earned the distinction again last season before winning for the fourth time this season.

Graves, who earned the honor five times during his Rangers career, won the award three consecutive seasons between 1991-92 and 1993-94. After four years passed, Graves won the Steven McDonald Extra Effort Award back-to-back in 1998-99 and 1999-2000.

Other multiple winners are Jan Erixon---who was the first recipient of the award back in 1987-88 and then who won again in 1990-91, Sandy McCarthy, and Jed Ortmeyer. The only player currently on the Rangers roster other than Callahan who also has won the Steven McDonald Extra Effort Award is goaltender Henrik Lundqvist, the 2005-06 recipient.

What do you think of Ryan Callahan being honored yet again by the Blueshirts Faithful? Share your comments on the award below.


Apr 18 - 9:12pm